perspective

sunrise-through-skyscrapers

I don’t say a lot about my life in the urban jungle, mostly because I spend far more time than is strictly necessary feeling unhappy about it. My soul lives in the water, in the forest, by the ocean. But my body and my mind live here.

It’s one of those great challenges in life, I think, to find beauty in the present moment. In the words of Jon Kabat-Zinn, “Wherever you go, there you are.”

A couple of days ago, I woke up to this view of the sun rising between the skyscrapers in the heart of the city, frost on the rooftops, crane operators starting the day, and I was so grateful for that moment.

As views go, it’s not my super-favorite of course. I don’t think I’d immortalize it in a watercolor painting or anything. But the other day, a few blocks from where we live, I passed a man in a wheelchair, sitting on a street corner with his head bowed down. It was really cold out. As we drove by in our car, wearing our fancy clothes on our way to a wedding in a fancy hotel, where we got to eat fancy food, I said to Dan, “Do you ever think about how amazingly lucky we are just to have a place to SLEEP at night?”

And we are. So very, very lucky.

Since then it’s been especially present on my mind. My view may not be awe-inspiring, but it means I have a window to look out of. From the inside of a warm house. And you know, I *am* kind of in awe about that.

It’s not the ocean, but it is what it is. And it’s something to be thankful for.

It’s hard to find the beauty in some things. But I’ll keep trying.

I’m an artist – it’s what I do.


curious to know more about my creative life and the latest Uglibeads for sale?
you may enjoy my super cool, lovingly crafted weekly newsletter! click here to join in!

7 thoughts on “perspective

  1. It’s so very hard to not be “home” but your message is such a good one. Thank you so much for the lovely reminder of how much I have. I am so fortunate to be able to do what I do. I should not take that for granted.

  2. Yes! This post resonates. I have found I can be content living many places. Though the heart goes where it wants. The wonderful thing about being human is we have imagination to fill our minds when we are not where our hearts would wish. Appreciating each moment in your heart place gives you solace and wonder for those times in the other places. And Julie, I think you find beauty wherever you look for it. You are a seeker and will always look for it. Much love and hugs.

Leave a comment